Fabric in Coloured Pencil

Art, artwork, Color pencil, Colored Pencil, Colour pencil, coloured pencil, Portraits, Work In Progress

The last two pieces I have worked on have involved fabric. The next piece I do I am hoping to take a break from it although as I have so many lovely photos from our last trip which was to Japan, many of which involve kimonos that might be easier said than done.

Having said that I have learnt so much about making fabric look like fabric that it has all been good practice. For me the secret has been not to look just at the colour but at the flow of the fabric, the lines that it takes and to make my strokes follow them. Now I am writing about it I realise that it is a bit like doing animal fur, making the lines follow the direction that something lies in rather than doing mown thing.

It’s not finished yet, it’s still a work in progress but I am getting there 🙂

Screen Shot 2016-03-04 at 16.16.16      Screen Shot 2016-03-08 at 16.07.34

