The development of a pet portrait

Animal portrait, Color pencil, Colored Pencil, Colour pencil, coloured pencil, Pet portrait

 

imageFor me the most important aspect of any portrait, be it animal or human is the eyes. The eyes need to capture the essence of the animal or person and if these are wrong the whole portrait is wrong.

Once the eyes were right I began to develop this portrait by laying out in the lightest colours, the shape of the face.

imageDoing this lets me see the shape the face needs to take as well as allowing me to begin to build up the layers of colour. The slower I work the better the result. Pale layers first then gradually getting darker whilst paying attention to the colours I can see in the fur. Darkest darks and lightest lights are important to lay in.

image image  image

I also build up the fur slowly and again by starting light and moving towards dark.

image Being careful to pick out the colours that make up the White fur is very important as this again helps to give depth. By laying in the short fur first then moving towards the longer fur I can adjust the shape as I go until the portrait is complete.

 

What at is so important here is that it not only looks like no carries the energy and character of the pet.image

